Yet another Valentine

flower-vase.jpgLadies and gentlemen, brace yourselves for yet another over-rated but widely-celebrated Valentine’s Day. I am not going to bore you with the history of Saint Valentine or as to why do we celebrate this lovers’ day.

At the risk of sounding like a love-cynic, I will proceed with this posting. Yeah, may be I am tad jealous to those giggling and beaming women, carrying huge bouquet of roses with their men in tow.  

Truth be told, I never received those obnoxiously expensive bouquet of roses during Valentine’s Day. Nor have I ever gazed in any man’s eyes amidst candle light dinner. I was not and still am not that lucky woman.  

The only occasion I receive flowers from my boyfriend (now husband) is during the day I was called to the Malaysian Bar. Apparently, such occasion deems fit in his eyes for me to receive flowers. I digress.  

Sometimes ago, I read him a Sonnet. Today, I will recite it again for him. Not because today is a Valentine’s Day, but just to relive one of our best memories a little;

 Let me not to the marriage of true minds

Admit impediments

Love is not love

Which alters when it alteration finds

Or bends with the remover to remove 

O no! it is an ever-fixed mark

That looks upon tempest and is never shaken It is the star to every wand’ring bark

Whose worth’s unknown, although his height be taken

Love’s not Time’s fool, though rosy lips and cheeks

Within his bending sickle compass come

Love alters not with his brief hours and weeks

 But bears it out even to the edge of doom

If this be error and upon me prov’d

I never writ, nor man ever lov’d 

W. Shakespeare – Sonnet 116 

Alas, it is the florists who are making a brisk, but surely profitable business today. I rest my case. All said and done, I am fortunate to having found someone like my husband. I love you too, Sayang.  

7 thoughts on “Yet another Valentine

  1. A time, there was, I find myself in wilderness.
    Spiraling down, yet the bottom eludes me.
    This was what, once upon a time…

    Sonnet 66
    (William Shakespeare)

    Tired with all these, for restful death I cry,

    As, to behold desert a beggar born,

    And needy nothing trimm’d in jollity,

    And purest faith unhappily forsworn,

    And guilded honour shamefully misplaced,

    And maiden virtue rudely strumpeted,

    And right perfection wrongfully disgraced,

    And strength by limping sway disabled,

    And art made tongue-tied by authority,

    And folly doctor-like controlling skill,

    And simple truth miscall’d simplicity,

    And captive good attending captain ill:

    Tired with all these, from these would I be gone,

    Save that, to die, I leave my love alone.

    PS: Having found someone like your husband, treasure him, both good and bad times. More so during the bleakest of moment, if there ever gonna be. And he, to you too. Especially now, you are all a family.

  2. Ahh, how do I make correction to my post? Can I even? “Dingle Dad”? Sounds to me like a very confused dad, not knowing to stay double or going single. *sigh*

  3. Reading your latest reply, I am actually laughing outloud. Dingle Dad???!!!! Hahahaha!! Sorry. Just have to laugh. Hehehehehehe….

    Sonnet 66 is one of late father’s treasure, I missed him dearly, Single Dad. I wish he is still a round to pass on his wisdom to baby Luqman. Argh, the knot in my heart is torturing. This overwhelming surge of emotion will happen every time I think of him. He was a great man you know? Please be rest assured that you are always a hero in your daughter’s eyes. Nothing will deny you the right. This much I know.

    I will be on a short hiatus for a while. The family is taking a long-overdue holiday. I will be back on Thursday next week. What are your plans for the holidays?

  4. Dear Single Dad,

    I was in MPH Bangsar Village II this afternoon, I bought 2 books. I seriously need help!!! Can barely afford this addiction no more. Help!

  5. Wanted to reply on the very same day you posted yours here but thinking that you will be away, I decided to wait till you come back. Don’t you just hate it, keep coming back in to see if your earlier posting been replied to or not and that was exactly what I am so fond of doing. So, to save me from that disappointment (you were away, remember?), I hold on.

    I’ll let you know the day, when this dad is ready to be a “Dingle Dad” again (that would be when I am certain I no longer want to stay single and have finally decided to go double, whatever that means!).

    Am sure, your late father is very much around. We are, they say, the by-products of what our old folks were, so I know baby Luqman won’t be missing on any of the wisdom your dad possessed. He was a great man, I can tell. Look at you now.

    I smiled, when you asked what my plans be for the holiday. I have none. Thought of volunteering to water your plants and switching on the porch and the backyard lights every evening, but I wasn’t too sure if dear hubby would take kindly to such offer from a stranger.

    But who to tell what’s going to happen someday. Hubby or even you probably have a younger sister who is still single. And looking.

    Suddenly, the idea of being “dingle” seemed so enticing.

  6. Dearest Single Dad,

    Oh I am so sorry to disappoint you. I am not a plant person and I dont live in a house with a porch or a backyard. Thats life I guess. You can dream all you want. As we speak I stll live in an apartment. The cost of real estate in KL is obnoxious. Cant afford anything landed just yet.

    Sadly Single Dad, I have only one sister and she is going to be married to soon. Of course I have duly advised her that this decision of hers to end her single life, is not entirely without consequences! However, my sister in law is still single, shes in her mid thirties. She ll kill me if she reads this!

    I hope you go double again soon. Life is too short to avoid taking risk. Your first experience may be sour but that shouldnt stop you taking the plunge again. The interest of the kids, of course, must be of your paramount consideration.

    I bet you have catched up on your reading over the holidays. I managed to complete Karim Raslan’s Journey through South East Asia over the holidays. Interesting read from a local writer.

    Go on be a “dingle” again.

Leave a Reply

