The Sensational Sensasi Ban

Mother in law: “Ha, mama nak tengok Sensasi tau pukul sebelas” (translation: don’t you dare hog my TV at eleven).

Me: “They have banned Sensasi Mother, because of the rude remarks made to the Prophet Muhammad’s wife”

Mother in law: “No, they have not, I haven’t read anything about it in the papers” (in her sixty years of life she never read anything but the NST).

Me: “I know, I read Nuraina’s blog on the internet”.

Mother in law: [grumbling, grumbling] “that’s the problem with you people, don’t believe anything on the internet”.

Me: “Its true mother….”.

Mother in law: “No, why would they ban the programme? It’s not the programme’s fault, it’s that #@$%& woman’s fault”.

Me: “That’s just the way Malaysia is Mother, they ban anything as they please”.

Mother in law: “No, let’s wait until eleven o’clock”.

Me: “Okay”.

Came 11 o’clock. No Sensasi. Mother in law kept quiet and pretended as though the conversation never took place.

My husband and I knowingly smiled to each other.

That’s my darling mother in law, despite my best effort to make her change her subscription to other newspapers, she never relented.

Me? I never believe in banning anything. I believe in the freedom of speech.

I am still contemplating new ways to cancel her NST subscription. Must get up at wee hours one day and have a word with the paper boy.

7 thoughts on “The Sensational Sensasi Ban

  1. Just curious, how about the freedom to read anything we wish; good or bad?

    –>”That’s my darling mother in law, despite my best effort to make her change her subscription to other newspapers, she never relented.

    Me? I never believe in banning anything. I believe in the freedom of speech.

    I am still contemplating new ways to cancel her NST subscription. Must get up at wee hours one day and have a word with the paper boy.

    Surely you can read anything you please, but not when I am paying for it🙂 Good day

  2. “Surely you can read anything you please, but not when I am paying for it🙂 Good day”

    Fair enough –😛

    Hi Suzie, thanks for dropping by once again.

Leave a Reply

