Kekasih

It rained heavily this morning. The sky was solemn and sad. Everything outside looked grey and miserable. I was sitting alone in the library, not knowing what to do in this kind of weather. I browsed through few old boxes underneath the bookshelves. After shoving away the cobwebs and layers of dust, I discovered and old poetry book by the legendary Usman Awang.

I am no expert in love, often I am just a victim. But after all these years, my soul is still deeply affected by this poem –

Akan ku pintal buih-buih

Menjadi tali mengikat mu

Akan ku anyam gelombang-gelombang

Menjadi hamparan ranjang tidur mu

Akan ku tenun awan-gemawan

Menjadi selendang menudungi rambut mu

Akan ku jahit bayu gunung

Menjadi baju pakaian malam mu

Akan ku petik bintang timur

Menjadi kerongsang menyinari dada mu

Akan ku jolok bulan gerhana

Menjadi lampu menyuluhi rindu

Akan kurebahkan matari

Menjadi laut malam mu

Menghirup sakar madu mu

Kekasih, hitunglah mimpi yang membunuh realiti

dengan syurga ilusi

12 thoughts on “Kekasih

  1. oh elviza, i too love this poem – one of the best, perhaps the best malay poem about love dont you think so…? but what i want to know is why are you a “victim”? hmm…your writings doesnt show that…i feel ur empowered enough not to be a victim, eh? so it was raining in KL? didnt go for mee rebus then? hmm…so many questions :=)

    Yup Susan, its beatiful, if only I can write like Usman Awang. He he he he… I am victim because I am a fool in love. Always wearing my heart upon my sleeve. Simply weak to the person I love most. As it is my vivious husband is asking me for a new golf set and it is not even his birthday! The nerve of him.

    It was raining in KL for the past two day, especially in the morning. And no, I missed the mee rebus session again. Rocky texted me about it this morning. As usual I got tied up with work, cant escape. Take care my friend.

  2. wow… simply beautiful!

    eh, been wanting to ask you since schooldays, is there a story behind your name? Very unique indeed. (ignore this question if too private!)

    LOL! God K’ron, you must been waiting a long time to ask me that! No story lah… my late father has a wierd taste in name… he he he…. *Still missing the sight of the daffodils, sigh*

  3. Woooo Simply great elviza. The poem brings back my sweet memory in the ’70. Thanks. One of these day will make an effort to meet my three favorites sister bloggers.🙂

    i am one of your favorite? *blush blush* wow…… thanks Anon, you so sweet

  4. ya lah. i’ve been dying to know too. LOL! hey, thanks to you, i’m in touch with Azura. We might see each other one of these days. Can’t wait!

    What? A mini reunion in London? Damn….. jelesnya I…

  5. Alhamdulillah, baguskan sajak dia. Bila agaknya saya dapat menulis sebaik itu.

    I thought so as well Accia. Tapi rasanya, tak mungkin lah dapat buat sebaik dia

  6. Hi – I am trying to find an English translation of the ‘Kekasih’ poem by Usman Awang. It is to read at a wedding on Sunday 6th May in England this weekend, for two English people who met while volunteering for a charity in Sabah. Can you help?
    Thanks, I’d be really grateful
    Terimah kasih
    Phil Bloomfield
    Brighton, England

  7. Feeling melancholic already. Was in one of my letter to my wife when was courting her… Bring back memories… Another quite good poet is Chairil Anwar..

    AKU

    Kalau sampai waktuku
    ‘Ku mau tak seorang kan merayu
    Tidak juga kau
    Tak perlu sedu sedan itu
    Aku ini binatang jalang
    Dari kumpulannya terbuang
    Biar peluru menembus kulitku
    Aku tetap meradang menerjang
    Luka dan bisa kubawa berlari
    Berlari
    Hingga hilang pedih peri
    Dan aku akan lebih tidak perduli
    Aku mau hidup seribu tahun lagi

    Chairil Anwar
    March 1943

Leave a Reply

