My Fair Lady, the Musical

It has been a long time since I dressed up and put on my high heels – I actually despise high heels, they are designed to torture women and its usage is really overrated! Last Friday, I did put on my high heels and with my two closest friends in tow, we headed for Plenary Hall, KL Convention Centre. My Fair Lady the Musical is in town!

A general overview about the play is explained here. Personally, I am of the view that this play summarised the grandeur of English language in its entirety. The play is also undoubtedly intelligent and witty in so far as the language is concerned.

The show kicked off at ten minutes past 8 p.m. and it was a full house. When Colonel Pickering and Professor Higgins conversed deeply in Act One and subsequently “Why Can’t the English” song came along, I felt like I was back in Sheffield. In Northern England, cockney accent can be heard from all corners. I found myself ironically missing the sound of the accent. Of course, the play injected its romantic elements in form of a besotted young man named Freddy Eynsford Hill, singing “On the Street Where You Live“.

The audience laughed when Eliza Doolittle first tried to say “the rain in Spain stays mainly in the plane” and “in Hertford, Hereford, Hampshire, hurricanes hardly ever happens.” I must say, it was so hilarious at this point, my stomach was in stitches!

I repeatedly told Yanti that I wish I haven’t watched the movie so that I could enjoy the play without comparing the two versions. I am delighted to note that Poppy Tierney played Eliza Doolittle brilliantly, much better than Audrey Hepburn in the movie. Be that as it may, I am still a big fan of Ms. Hepburn.

All in all, Ms Doolittle in her tutelage with Professor Higgins showed deep compassion and unconditional love notwithstanding her poor rank. If you ask me, I conclude that Professor Higgins did not realise that he indeed has fallen in love with Eliza.

If I have to choose my favourite lines it would be from Professor Higgins –

“Oh, why can’t the English learn to set
A good example to people whose
English is painful to your ears?
The Scotch and the Irish leave you close to tears.
There even are places where English completely
disappears.
In America, they haven’t used it for years!
Why can’t the English teach their children how to speak?
Norwegians learn Norwegian; the Greeks have taught their
Greek. In France every Frenchman knows
his language fro “A” to “Zed”
The French never care what they do, actually,
as long as they pronounce in properly.”

What a night! what a play! what a pleasant company I had for the night. Good day folks.

20 thoughts on “My Fair Lady, the Musical

  1. Oh darling Elviza, now you have put some of those songs in my head. I can hear the orchestra tuning their instruments. Wait.. they are starting. I hear the intro, so familiar.. (one of my favourite songs):
    I have often walked down this street before;
    But the pavement always stayed beneath my feet before.
    All at once am I several stories high.
    Knowing I’m on the street where you live.
    Are there lilac trees in the heart of town?
    Can you hear a lark in any other part of town?
    Does enchantment pour out of ev’ry door?
    No, it’s just on the street where you live!
    And oh! The towering feeling
    Just to know somehow you are near.
    The overpowering feeling
    That any second you may suddenly appear!
    People stop and stare. They don’t bother me.
    For there’s no where else on earth that I would rather be.
    Let the time go by, I won’t care if I
    Can be here on the street where you live.
    Thanks Elviza. Glad you enjoyed your night at the play with good company (and your much-despised high heels).🙂

    My Dear Jac,

    Glad to have put a song on your mind. Music, as I always say, is a language of love. It trasnport you to another world. As Kak Ena said, it transcends barrier. Of course, still couldnt find the love for high heels. Good day my friend

  2. I must come from I-Donno-What-World… coz I’ve never watch the movie of My Fair Lady…read it once but has forgotten about it… Aiyahhh…lost in space would be best suited me.
    You were in KL Concention Centre? That Friday…I was there too for the Survivors Tea -Relay For Life. Yeah I saw the sign at the entrance of the Plenary Hall…for that show…
    So close and yet so far eh sis?

    Darling Dear,

    Hik hik hik…. no worries lah, not everybody enjoys musical. As my husband said, only weird people do (how dare him!). I saw the Survivors Tea thingy! You were there? So close yet so far indeed. Better exchange phone numbers in our emails Dalilah!

  3. Hehe…concention? Aiyahhh…this hand is terrible today…feeling numb…typing is troublesome…sorry sis.

    Darling dear,

    I am sorry you feel bad today, hope you feel better soon okay?

  4. Elviza,
    Stumbled upon your blog about a fortnight ago and I’m hooked!😉
    Incidentally, My Fair Lady is one of my favourite all time musicals!
    Many songs are personal favourite but this one stuck in my head:
    “I’ve Grown Accustomed to Her Face”
    (The last verse goes like this *sigh* )
    But I’m so used to hear her say
    “Good morning” ev’ry day.
    Her joys, her woes,
    Her highs, her lows,
    Are second nature to me now;
    Like breathing out and breathing in.
    I’m very grateful she’s a woman
    And so easy to forget;
    Rather like a habit
    One can always break-
    And yet,
    I’ve grown accustomed to the trace
    Of something in the air;
    Accustomed to her face.
    Have a great week, Elviza
    Theta aka Eliza

    Dear Theta aka Eliza,

    Ohhh…. comments like this will make me smile the whole day (perasan!)… thank you for the support. Professor Higgins sang the above song isnt it? Second half of the play?

  5. I never got tired to watch Rex Harrison and Audrey Heburn on this classic. I think not less than 20 times…all these years and yet still enjoy it like first time viewing. Yes live shows are more exciting…go see it,

    Uncle Monty Dear,

    As I said, I am a big fan of Audrey Hepburn. She embodied all the elements a woman should have. Take care Uncle Monty

  6. I first saw My Fair Lad when i was in form one. Believe me, the musical blew me away. the songs, the lyrics, the actors … it was magical. Probably the best musical of them all. I have seen it umpteenth times, and believe me, I will watch it again and again. I miss the musical in KL, but with a little bit of luck, I will catch them one day.

    Dear Nstman,

    Yes, it was magical from start to finish

  7. Anybody can write a play about “Gaji kakitangan kerajaan naik, harga barang lagi naik, apa jadi kami yang tak kerja kerajaan”?

    Pak Ngah,

    Boleh saya jawab? Jadi mangsa! Huaaaaaaa

  8. Elviza dearie,
    Just a quickie coz I haven’t been bloghopping for the past 10 days or so.
    Ahh..I missed the days of just commenting here, there and everywhere.
    Wonder if the NPC K-machine has “On the street where you live”? One heck of a song to clear your tonsils coz of the vocal range.
    Gotta go and ‘bug’ Anon, Mat, Zorro…btw blogspot sites gone bonkers since 1am. Server down?
    Adieu.

    Ah Shar,

    Been reading your OBE, I must say, it’s getting a reputatio on its own (in a good way I mean)

  9. i remember Cikgu Azura made us watched the film during my A-Levels years. Honestly I didn’t quite catch half of what they were saying. I was too engrossed with Audrey Hepburn’s beauty. Flawless skin and sooo beautiful.
    Well, I don’t know if it is of the same reason or not, but I bought the DVD. Well maybe i was thinking to get some good things out of it. errr something like speaking with British accent… heh heh, belum berjaya lagi.

    K’ ron dear,

    British accent yang macam Hugh Grant tu best kan?

  10. I have the DVD and watch it every 2 or 3 months. Love it as much as i love the other one, (y’know, the one where they sing and dance on the hills, no need to name it, everybody knows)
    anyway, my fair lady is a gem. i have never seen the play though. maybe i will someday. it’ll be quite an experience.
    perhaps, our fellow Bar members can come up with something like this on our next dinner and dance. it’ll be fun

    Sue!

    Next meeting I suggest you, elect you, pah tuh you plan the whole dinner and dance thing? Okay friend?

  11. Elviza,
    Yes, Prof Higgins sang the song and it’s towards the end before he returned home and resigned to the fact that he might have lost Ms.Doolittle forever.

    Yay! It’s the weekend!

  12. Mish,
    That night was grand wasn’t it? Thought we were late…smoking at a no smoking area…you looking gorgeous in that dress, me without any makeup on, yen looking so grim in black (instead of elegant)…the late night supper (gasp! you were outside at midnight!)
    It was one of those nights we used to love doing so much but so rare nowadays…Thanks my fair lady, michele…

    Ren,

    Grand it was. You meant, you and yen smoking at a no smoking area despite my desperate pleas for you guys to quit fell on deaf ears? Sigh. You know you can quit right? Yes you can and yes you will.

    I ll take the compliment of me being gorgeous in that dress, bought the dress with you n yen. It has been so long. I hate to say this but you still look okay without make up. How is that fair at all? In so far Yen is concerned, well, I rest my case.

    Good night my fair ladies

  13. Elviza… The history of ‘My fair Lady” actually real name was a book name “Pygamalion” ..written by Bernard Shaw. The script was bought by Leslie Howard…produced and acted on it and was a huge success.
    He later sold the script to movie mogul..MGM…and it was renamed..’My Fair Lady”. All the songs we hear are from old movie….but upgraded …like the famous ‘ I could have danced all night”.
    Take care.

  14. I did Pygmalion (My Fair Lady) in Form Five in the sixties when English was the language in schools. I watched the movie probably about five times to prepare for the exam. It seems like only yesterday. The roguish antics of Rex Harrison and the endearing charm and beauty of Audrey Hepburn are magic, beyond description.

    Dear Nstman,

    You REALLY like this play/movie….

  15. Elviza…Do you know Sheih’s mom just suffered a heart attack and everyone is saying a prayer for her speedy recovery. Thanks.

    Dearest Uncle Monty,

    Thanks for telling me. Just text him. Lets say a prayer for his mom. Sigh, poor Sheih

  16. Sheih just sms me ..his mom getting better and ask me to thank all.

    Dearest Uncle Monty,

    Thanks for telling me.

Leave a Reply

