The Wise Kahlil Gibran

Recently, my dear sister of 3540 Jalan Sudin, put up a posting about a poem for the prime minister from another minister. Enough said, I shall forever hold my tongue to save myself from getting into trouble. In the post’s comment section, my brother Rocky narrated a poem by Kahlil Gibran. It was beautiful, I fell in love with the words.

I confessed, I have never read the poem before and dare I claim myself to be an avid reader! I reproduce the haunting poem below for us to ponder upon –

Then Almitra spoke again and said, 

‘And what of Marriage, master?’

And he answered saying:

You were born together, and together you shall be forevermore.

You shall be together when white wings of death scatter your days.

Aye,  you shall be together even in the silent memory of God.

But let there be spaces in your togetherness,

And let the winds of the heavens dance between you.

Love one another but make not a bond of love.

Let it rather be a moving sea between the shores of your souls.

Fill each other’s cup but drink not from one cup.

Give one another of your bread but eat not from the same loaf.

Sing and dance together and be joyous, but let each one of you be alone,

Even as the strings of a lute are alone though they quiver with the same music.

Give your hearts, but not into each other’s keeping.

For only the hand of Life can contain your hearts.

And stand together, yet not too near together:

For the pillars of the temple stand apart,

And the oak tree and the cypress grow not in each other’s shadow.

*This is for my husband. Thank you for always giving me the space to be who I am.*

14 thoughts on “The Wise Kahlil Gibran

  1. I think it’s quite rare that a woman called wife appreciate (or need) space as much as a man does. But hey, you are unique, special and beautiful just like this poem.

    Dearest K’ron,

    Really? is that so? I mean not many women need space as much as men do? Hmmm, that’s a point to ponder. Never quite see it that way.

  2. my dear elviza,
    what a hauntingly, eerily beautiful poem.
    thank you for reproducing it.
    stay happy
    (very lucky hubby you have, my dear)

    Dearest my Witchy Sister,

    Beautiful right the words? Never anyone sums any theory on marriage as accurate as this one. I still have goose bumps everytime I read it. Take care sister and you stay happy too!

  3. Hi Elviza,
    There is one particular quote from Kahlil Gibran which I will always remember:-
    “<i><b>You give but little when you give off our possessions. It is when you give of yourself that you truly give</i></b>”…
    Just thought I’d like to share that here…
    I hope someday down the road, 50 years from now, someone will say “<i>Hmm…Daphne did <b>try</b> to do that…</i>”…

    My litte sister Daphne,

    Thank you for the superb reminder. I already passed it on to my close friends.

  4. “Even as the strings of a lute are alone though they quiver with the same music.”
    I am with you Elviza. I need my space and the freedom to be myself. When I have that, I give my best in the partnership.
    Deep and beautiful.

    Dearest Jac,

    My favourite lines from this poem would be “and stand together yet not too near together; for the pillars of the temple stand apart.” It gives a new meaning in so far as togetherness is concerned.

  5. Wa ingat lu sudah ok jugak .Bila cakap ini cinta2 hati misti manyak sinang punya.
    Ni luit loti amacam mahu bayar ini hali ka .Itu loti wa tinggal bawah pokok kasi kila sekali lo , lu talak makan lu punya pasat la .Talak bayo wa mati jugak.Apasat lu tanya…Along lo!!
    Lu jaga dili baik2, kasi bayar wa punya loti dulu ,jangan panjat itu pokok dulu
    Wa ingat itu pokok kasi potong sama dia lagi baguih , sikalang mana ada olang tinggal atas pokok lagi lo. Lu mahu wa tolong potong ka?
    Apala lu anak kicik nangis ada,lu duduk atas jugak.Talak kisian sama dia ka?
    Lain kali jangan bikin ini macam

    Roti Kaya,

    Dont want to talk to you, dont want to pay you. I got massive headache

  6. Hi Elviza,
    Great minds produce great insights. But its a gift to be able to spot, among the rubble, the gem that lies within. Thanks Bro Rocky and to you Elviza for being able to spot the gem and share it with the not-so-fortunate like us. I’ m wealthier in knowledge today than I was yesterday after reading this beautiful poem.

    Ah Tony, you are too kind with compliments. I am just reproducing this gem. See ya soon

  7. I was introduced to the beautiful poetic world of Kahlil Gibran when I was in my 20s. I had even selected a poem to be printed in my wedding booklet if and when I got married. If only all married couples took his words to heart, there will be less broken marriages in the world I’m sure.

    Dearest Lady Patsy,

    Thank you for dropping by, I am so honoured. I have been reading your blog enroute from Jacqui’s Curve and I enjoyed myself immensely there. I printed a poem too on my wedding invitation card, I selected W Shakespeare Sonnet 116 –

    Let me not to the marriage of true minds

    Admit impediments

    Love is not love

    Which alters when it alteration finds

    Or bends with the remover to remove

    O no! it is an ever-fixed mark

    That looks upon tempest and is never shaken It is the star to every wand’ring bark

    Whose worth’s unknown, although his height be taken

    Love’s not Time’s fool, though rosy lips and cheeks

    Within his bending sickle compass come

    Love alters not with his brief hours and weeks

    But bears it out even to the edge of doom

    If this be error and upon me prov’d

    I never writ, nor man ever lov’d

    I found it eerily true that love is not love when its alteration finds and love is indeed an ever-fixed mark. Sigh. I wish I can write as well as Kahlil Gibran and this W Shakespeare (fat chance!).

  8. Pak Lah’s recent marriage has got all of us worked up to be so loving and kind.
    It is good news.
    I like your comic strip spoken words.

    Dear Uncle Monty,

    No, it isn’t Pak Lah’s marriage that does this. I am just an incurable romantic. Sigh

  9. Togetherness…space. But how much space? I think I have been luckier than most. I spend at least 2/3 rds of my time AWAY from home and hearth, and I dare say absence can certainly make the heart grow fonder. But afer a while of being home, then it’s time to depart again, to renew, to fresh, and into the arms of another woman (Hoi! Sorry I got carried away – ignore the “into the arms…” part!🙂 )
    But I take the vow seriously… I don’t think it’s possible the love another woman as your wife (lust after another? Well.. let’s not get into that). So it’s important to separate the two . . . and not be confused by them!
    Yes, KG is a certainly a great poet…

    Brother,

    You back on the rig is it? I think you are, that explains this comment of yours. LOL. On a more serious note, in my point of view, this isnt a love poem. This is a serious reminder for us all, as Lady Patsy wisely put it – if everyone takes this poem to heart, there will be less divorces (padan muka lawyer!)

  10. Woooo…poems.
    And space will be all I’ll get come July 5-9th at Tioman. Plus a rod and line, lolling and bopping on the high seas, of course.
    Gotta blog-hop, E.

    Dearest Shar,

    Ohhh Tioman is gorgeous. Where are you staying? Take loads of picture okay? Have fun blog hopping brother. Come back will less controversial posting will ya?🙂

Leave a Reply

