Two Gentlemen of Verona

I loved this prose before, I love it now and I’ ll love it forever –

Act III, Scene  I

“And why not death rather than living torment?

To die is to be banish’d from myself;

And Silvia is myself: banish’d from her

Is self from self: a deadly banishment!

What light is light, if Silvia be not seen?

What joy is joy, if Silvia be not by?

Unless it be to think that she is by

And feed upon the shadow of perfection

Except I be by Silvia in the night,

There is no music in the nightingale;

Unless I look by Silvia in the day,

There is no day for me to look upon;

She is my essence, and I leave to be,

If I be not by her fair influence

Foster’d, illumined, cherish’d, kept alive.”

Sorry folks, bad day at the office today. Calm down Elviza. Inhale…exhale. Meditate. Patience is virtue.

9 thoughts on “Two Gentlemen of Verona

  1. it’s okay. i have a bad day at work too (in fact, everyday’s a bad day) so i blog.

    Hello dear,

    Yea yea… it was so bad I reread Shakespeare. Damn, I am looser! Take care

  2. what a coincidence! It’s my bad day tooo…
    %$#%$ life sucks !

    Ala sian Mcta…sian dia… tak pe, tak pe…today is friday! Yea!

  3. alamak sis, thts just too hard to understand for me. bad day? its ok. it’l already be fri when u read my comment.;) have a great one!

    Dearest Farina,

    Sorry dear I wasn’t thinking straight. Don’t feel bad, I dont understand all of Shakespeare’s writings as well. I just like few selective ones. Take care

  4. Thanks for dropping by my place, Elviza.🙂

    Hope that you will have a good weekend that will help you forget your one lousy day.😉

    Jemima dear,

    Hi! thanks for dropping by. I love your blogs. So many cool posters and cheeky postings. Keep cool sista!

  5. Bad day, huh?

    More like a ‘bad week’ for me and I couldn’t think of what to write on OBE with all these ‘police action’ going on. Till yesterday…..woooo…RPK’s riotous ‘A comedy of Errors’ was just the balm for ‘blogged….blocked’ brains.

    And yeay, it’s Friday. Bloggers Night….uhh..Day at the usual hide-out.

    Coming, E?

    Oh! Shar dear… would love to go more than anything! But you know the little one’s bed time is 9pm. I hate leaving him (this is a motherhood’s curse I tell you!). Sing a song for me! Take care brother. Is that Rocky back from Bintan already?

  6. Hard luck Elviza….if you had been a teacher (like me in the 70’s) you would have your students come to you on a Saturday night say: “Sir (to me), Teacher (to Karen)….you go disco….we take care of Patrina (very close to one-year old)….but bring back supper OK?” And one of them was TonyG, the StandUpPhilosopher.

    yiiiiipppppeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeShar, TGIF…..see you for the amber fluidity….yon Willie Shakespare “has a lean and hungry look.”

    Are you serious Zorro?? TonyG was your student? Oh man…what a small world. Just look at you all, all excited on friday night to hide in NPC and consume amber colour drinks. Tsk tsk tsk…. Have fun though

  7. 2007 have been bad day by day to most..earning a living by themselves.
    It is the time we wish we are wage earners….got stress..no doubt about it…but after work…they can switch off all worries….and even plan their weekly vacations with the families.
    Survey was made and showed the majority Chinese are not supporting Pak Lah…because they earn a living by themselves..and PM ignore their pains…hardships and sorrows…..like all UMNO leaders do. Forget MCA and Gerakan magots.
    I know your post is about your personal discomfort…but I like to say how lucky you are compared to those feeling the same thing…day in day out.
    But for your bad days..yes dear lady….do meditations. IT HELPS!

  8. hi everybody…Thought you all like to know Susan Loone have achieved one million hits…few hours ago.
    She is the first lady blogger in Malaysia to achieve that.
    Her ‘Free Speech Zone” is somewhat special too…with more than 2000 messages under one site of her blog. I don’t think anyone have that record too.
    Her success is not without merits to her…as her variety of messages are exciting…clinging to no one party or one person agenda….but saying all for the love of the country and speaking on behalf of all Malaysians.
    Go and enjoy her blog…so many do.
    Thanks.

Leave a Reply

