Thank You!

Words cannot describe the agony Jefree and I went through last week. It is the most enduring test that we have to face thus far. For that entire four minutes when Luqman went absolutely quiet and cold: Jefree and I died a million times.

At the end of the four minutes, Luqman snapped out of the fit, and uttered the word “Papa!” to Jefree. My knees went weak with relief. In my highly articulate world, I cannot tell you how I exactly felt at that time – how bizarre is that?

By the time we reached the emergency department, he was already too exhausted from his ordeal and fell asleep. Blood was drawn from his tiny hand, wires and monitors were attached to his lithe body and no amount of comforting words could ease my pain.

According to the paeditricians, it is just febrile fits. The tests show no indication of abnormalcy that we should be concerned about. But Jefree and I are bringing him back to his old paeditrician – Dr. Musa – for second opinion.

From the bottom of our hearts, we thank all of you for the prayers that have been bestowed upon us.

Special thank you goes to my blogger sisters & brothers; not forgetting the commentors of this blog too. Thank you Doc TA for putting up the notice in your blog.

To our family and close friends; we could not have gone through it without your support. We appreciate each and every phone calls – even if most of it went unanswered – and text messages.

Our thank you also goes to the support staff of Gleneagles’ peaditric ward, Dato’ Dr. Iean Hamzah, Dr. Adrian Koh and Dr. Musa.

*Picture above: his tiny hand with the IV paraphenelia

*Picture below: taken just after he was discharged from the hospital

31 thoughts on “Thank You!

  1. salam sis,
    shukur alhamdulillah.
    cemas i bila dapat sms tu.
    dalam hati tahu yang luqman is a strong boy.
    take care.

    salam sis,

    E, at times like that, I believe in the power of prayers. And hence the sms to you. Thank you.

  2. Salam sis Elviza:

    Alhamdulillah Luqman is okay now.
    I understand what you and Jeff went through( even I myself tak pernah alami begitu but have seen a lot to understand. But its still not the same), those moments like the whole world is collapsing on you or like its the end of you entire existence.
    Its worse for a mother to go through that.The umbilical attachement will always be there between a mother and son/daughter. To become a cocoon carrying the child for 40 weeks, and fighting with your life delivering them and having sleepless nights during their infancy…suddenly right by your eyes he went into a fit!! He starts shaking violently and turning white then blue sometimes saliva frothing. That is too much for any parents(what more a mother) can take.

    Alhamdulillah he had febrile fits and other indices doesnt suggest meningitis.
    There are few things you have to be ready with:
    1- Keep a bottle of Paracetamol or Brufen at home or bring along when travelling.
    2-Keep some Paracetamol or Voltaren suppositories in the fridge. If the fever is high ,a supp will quickly lower the fever.
    3-Ice cubes in the fridge( for tepid sponging if necessary.
    4-If he is prone to another fit( ask Dr Musa or Dr Iean) it would be useful if you can have a Valium suppository( liquid form in a small plastic tube) and keep it in the fridge.
    5- Until he is 6-7 years old, be watchful of his fever( since his brain cannot tolerate high temperature). Do not expose him under the hot sun for too long(at play ground or beach).

    This doesn’t mean you can’t lead a normal life again.No. You just carry on with your daily routine.its just that you have to be more watchful if he has fever. Otherwise he’ll be as ‘lasak’ as ever.

    Alhamdulillah, as Ramadhan is apporoaching its end and Syawal will bring us the ‘Eidul fitri celebration, Luqman will wear his new baju melayu and be a handsome kanak-kanak lelaki melayu. And his parents will shower him with their love, more than ever.

    Sis, you take care of yoursdelf too. Watch your BP. I know for the last week or so, you’ve neglected your own health for Luqman’s. Now its time you take care of yourself too.

    The patience that you and Jefree had to endure during ramadhan is enormous. I’m sure ALLAH will not it just passed on without a healthy ganjaran. Ameen.

    Salam.

    Salam TA,

    Ah, your instructions are so detailed, I could not find loophole in it. I be sure to ask Iean or Dr. Musa about item 4. We got the ear termometer and we be sure to keep it close. Its hard for me to let him go as active as he should be since this fear is gnawing at the back of my mind. He was running around the hotel lobby just now for the iftar and I could not keep my eyes of him. Such a feeling, I think, would only be understood by mothers. But you are right on that score of umbilical attachment.

    Throughout of his hospital stay I didn’t sleep and inch. I kept asking God to let me endure his pain instead. I was hopeless, sad and angry at the same time. But as my mother said “ade hikmahnya…”

    I spoke to Dr. Musa today and will bring Luqman to see him as soon as he gets the report from Dr. Iean. I didnt mean any harm but I believe it is my prerogative to seek second opinion. Hey, clients change lawyers all the time too!🙂
    Other than that TA, Jefree, Luqman and I are thankful for everything you had done to help us go through this ordeal. Semoga Tuhan memberkati hidup tuan doktor sekeluarga.

  3. Alhamdulillah. Glad to hear he’s fine. Luqman is a strong boy indeed.

    Selamat Hari Raya Luqman!! (and oh, same goes to Luqman’s mom too…)

    Terima kaseh. For everything; the prayers, the support, the friendship.

  4. Alhamdulillah Sis.

    God is great. I hope Luqman will fully recover. At the moment like this, always make us remember the suffering our parents has to go through in bringing us up.

    Take care and we know you are such a wonderful parent. Luqman will be well taken care off. And Dr. Musa is such a great fella.

    Brother,

    We never know until we are parents ourselves right? And yes, Dr. Musa is a great fella. Thanks for everything.

  5. Alhamdulillah…

    Berkat kesabaran ibu dan ayah, Luqman akan sembuh sepenuhnya….

    Doa dari saya agar Syawal ini akan memberi kebahgiaan buat Sis sekeluarga…..

    Little Brother,

    I do hope that we will meet up soon. Thank you for your prayers.

  6. My dear Elviza

    Syukur Alhamdullilah to know that Luqman is okay now.

    He is as cute as ever!

    Take care & here’s wisihing you Luqman & Jefree ‘Edil Mubarak!

    Dearest Kak Ton,

    I cannot tell you how traumatic the experience was for us. I ll tell you in detail when I meet you. I was hoping to stop by your house before raya to give you a little something. I call you. Thanks for the prayers. Kisses for the grandchildren.

  7. salam sis,

    yes, thank God Luqman is safe and sound. i may be late, as i always do, but never too late to pray for your son’s fully recovery. all of us shall keep on praying, insyaAllah. lagi2 towards the end of ramadhan, may Allah listen to all our prayers.

    Salam aidilfitri to the 3 of you. and Luqman, he is such a hunk, i tell ya.

    Salam Brother,

    InsyaAllah, mudah-mudahan di dengar doa kami pada malam lailatul qadar atau mana2 malam di akhir ramadhan ini. Amin amin amin. Thank you, thank you for your prayers and support.

    I am a mother you know, whenever people say my son is a hunk, I tend to believe it without batting an eyelid. Take care.

  8. Hope this year’s Raya is a lot special in more ways than one, E.

    Thank you for your replies for the sms I sent.

    P.S. L is wearing a Gap t-shirt? Quite a hunk, he is.

    Brother,

    We could not have gone through it without your prayers and support. We are forever grateful. As I said earlier, I am mother and I tend to believe it whenever people say my son is a hunk. Shessh!

  9. Thank God. I got a shock when I read the first para. Hope it is not too late to offer my prayers for Luqman, and to you and Jeffri. Though I am no mummy(and will not have a chance to be a biological mum), I know how and what it feels like. Being an aunt to 8 nephews and nieces, I have tasted the painful experience of being helpless when the little ones are in pain. But one thing I have learnt, and trust me, it has proven to work, is to be calm, have faith and say your prayers.

    May you and your family have a blessed Raya this year and many many years to come.

    hey, Alice is leaving for Spore (if you don’t already know) and hope we can catch up for a get together perhaps for a bbq at Su Yin’s place before she leaves (after Raya)

    Yuki,

    No, its never too late my friend. Didnt mean to worry you and the rest of the Resaa clan. Su Yin knew about it and we spoke on the phone exchanging notes. I be sure to keep calm. But it is easier said than done!

    Yeah, I knew about Alice’s departure to singapore soon. What a sad loss. Keep me posted about the farewell. Thanks Yuki!

  10. An answered prayer increases our faith in small doses. From little acorns grow great oaks.

    May His tender mercies watch over Luqman.

    Dear Hi&Lo,

    I only know you in this blog. I have never met you in person. And I will be one lucky lady when God let me meet you finally. You have been very supportive and kind. For that, I am eternally grateful. Send me an email if you can, I’be happy to receive it, I do wish to get to know you better.

    We thank you for the prayers.

  11. Syukur alhamdulillah. Hope you will never have to go thru this again.

    Here’s wishing a joyous Eid Mubarak to you and family.

    Amin amin. Never again Captain. Its my worst ever experience. Happy Eid Mubarak to you and your family as well. See ya after raya.

  12. salam to sis Elviza,
    Thanks God Luqman dah berjaya melalui masa payahnya..begitu juga dengan mama and papanya…But always be prepare as what TA nasihatkan.
    Kadang kadang bila diuji dengan kepayahan kita lebih dan tambah menghargai apa yang ada .Bersabar diwaktu payah ,bersyukur dikala mewah.Semoga Rahmat Allah meliputi kalian sekeluarga .Selamat menyambut Aidulfitri.

    Salam DrZeze,

    Thank you for everything. Of course we’d be sure to follow TA’s advice.

  13. Alhamdullilah Luqman dah ok….

    Apa yang TA tulis ialah….macam textbook punya nasihat….itulah yang sepatutnya kita buat bila ada anak yang kena febrile fit.

    Ya…memang benar..ada hikmah nya di sebalik setiap ujianNya.

    Elviza….pls take care.

    Dr Mokk,

    Thank you thank you. Eh, tiba2 rasa macam banyak lah pulak dr dalam blog I nih! He he he… you take it easy too you know…dnt give us another scare!

  14. Praise the Lord!!!

    May you & your family have a peaceful & joyful Raya.

    Wishing you in advance as I don’t go online much these days.

    *HUGS*

    *Hugs back*

    You hang in there sister. Thanks for being with us through this ordeal.

  15. Alhamdulillah and Shukran.

    Isn’t He the Greatest, Most Gracious and Most Merciful?

    Selamat Berpuasa, and have a joyful Aidil Adha.. Maaf Zahir Batin.

    Going back to Kelate this Hari Raya?

    CJ,

    Thanks for the prayers. We are grateful for that. Selamat Hari Raya to you too. And no, Raya this year is in Damansara😦

  16. Alhamdulillah. And have a wonderful Eid.

    Dear Kak Teh,

    I noticed your comment earlier and actually have to strain my eyes to believe it. Your presence here my honour. Thank you for your support and prayers during our difficult times. We are grateful.

    Heard about the book by Awang Goneng. Placed an order for two (ada sorang umat ni, malas nak pegi beli sendiri. Shessshh…). Can’t wait to read it. You and AG have a wonderful Eid break too okay.

  17. alhamdulillah, syukur! i’m so glad to hear the little hero is all right! and thanks to TA for the lengthy advise. As a mum, it benefits me as well. take care

    alhamdullilah. Thanks for everything friend…and yeah, TA is really good in dispensing free advice kan? Good on TA

  18. Eh, jangan laa panggil Rocky ‘uncle’. Bukan dia offended, I am. He… – we’re of the same age lah. Panggil ‘abang’ cukup. My preference? When Indo girls in their peculiar lilting voice coo to me, “Mas – mas”…

    Selamat Menyambut Lebaran Ied Mubarrak, Sis, Jeff and Luke.

    Mohan Ma’af Lahir & Bathin.

    “Minal Aidin Wal Faidzin”

    Halo brother, you really want me to state the age difference is it? You are an uncle. Rocky is an uncle. Abang my foot! On the other hand, Jefree, Luqman and I are grateful for your prayers and words of comfort during our difficult time. Thank you. Ied Mubarrak to you too. Kisess for the boys and my name sake. Take care

  19. Thank God Luqman is well. Love that picture of him – so cute. Please give him a hug for me.

    Here’s wishing you, Jeff and Luqman a joyous and blessed Hari Raya. Take care, sis.

    Thanks for everything Jac, and he loves being hugged. I ll give him one from you. You take care too…

  20. I’m relieved by the news you wired that day… Sebak bila baca your entry ni…esp the first para…

    Alhamdulillah everything is back to normal now…but maybe still kena watch out juga kot Mish?

    Take care the three of you. My doa is still with you.

    Selamat Menyambut Eid Mubarak Mish..Maaf Zahir Batin Ya…

    Darling,

    Memang kena watch out consistantly jugak. Just in case you know. Thanks for the concern. We are forever indebted to you for your prayers and support.

  21. I was shocked and simultaneously relieved …all went well in the end.
    Me too can imagine the ordeals and suspense both of you went through.
    There is a saying….something had to happen to avoid a bigger mishap. So take it in that spirit.

    Sorry to have shocked you Uncle Monty but I did put the previous two postings before that to explain the diagnosis and what actually happenend. Thanks for the words of comfort too. We appreciate it, really.

  22. So doctor said his fits is due to being tensed and excited? Will that be permanent or just a passing event…as he grow older?
    I am sure it is a passing event….and meanwhile..do not do anything to the extreme with him… playing ….joking or even watching movie shows from TV…not too exciting ones.
    I think best is listening to more music and read story books.
    Outings…make sure he is taken care by anyone with parents watching closely.
    He is such a lovely boy!!

    The fits was due to high temperature and hopefully it will be a one off thing. Thats what we are hoping for now. However, he is given a clean bill of health and can run around as much as he can. Thank you for the compliments Uncle Monty, thats really nice of you. We ll be sure to keep constant watch on the boy.

  23. Dearest Elviza

    Kalau Pak Ngah jumpa Luqman, Pak Ngah peluk cium dia puas-puas. What a cute boy!

    Salam ‘Aidil Fitri kpd Elviza sekeluarga dari bakaq a.k.a. ~penarik beca a.k.a. sang kutu sekeluarga.. من العائدين والفائزين

    Pak Ngah,

    Memang dia suka kena cium pun. Kalau org cium dia nanti dia tersengeh sengeh. Sheesh…
    Terima kasih atas doa2 Pak Ngah untuk Luqman semasa kami amat memerlukannya. Salam Aidifitiri untuk Pak Ngah sekeluarga.

  24. Elviza, great news indeed tht Luqman is doing very well now. *hugs*

    Sis,

    I cannot tell you how relief Jefree and I were. Thanks for the prayers and support during our times of need. Thank you once again.

  25. YAY!

    This means Abang Jefree, Baby Luqman and you can ber-raya happily lar…

    All the best, and listen to TA…He always has the best advice…And in point form samore!

    Thank you Daph dear. Thanks for the text messages as well

  26. Tell you a secret….like the one I told Marina M. I did not pray to God, I threatened HIM. He listened but I think he sent a message to register who is in charge. Probably, he zapped my lappy-top. I thanked HIM anyway. Will tell you my experiences with children who goes into fits because of high temp. when we meet over mee rebus next Tuesday. Hug Jeff and Luqman for me.

    Friend, thank you – from the bottom of our hearts. Couldnt have gone through it without your support

  27. I am late at this, as I have only just discovered your blog! Nevertheless, my heart ached while reading this – my brother had a similar episode when he was 9.

    I hope all has returned to normal, and that he is ok and healthy again.

    God Bless!

    hugs.

    Oh, my old friend Chin Li, its okay dear…. Luke is well and back on his feet again. He can run as fast as you saw him in Great Eastern Mall!

Leave a Reply

