Sleepless in Setiawangsa – IV

Ah, another sleepless night here in Bukit Setiawangsa. I am awake and I don’t seem to be able to close my eyes and go to bed.

So I think I am going to write and ramble away. But right now I am having a mental block and have been staring at this empty screen before me the last one hour. Oh, I wish I could write efffortlessly like those journo-bloggers I secretly envy. But sad to say, that wish will remain just a dream – for now. So, please spare me your time and bear with my ramblings.

========================================================

At TWB (Tuesday with Bloggers ler…) last Tuesday, crime analyst Kamal Affendi, who is now a blogger, was among the new faces that turned up at Kak Ton’s house.

We had earlier (Kak Ton and Raden Galoh) watched him on TV3’s “Wanita Hari Ini” about the Nurin Alert. With him were Nuraina A. Samad and Jasni Abdul Jalil (the uncle of Nurin Jazlin), who was also a first-timer at the gathering.

The TWB was like a reunion of sort because it was the first gathering we had since the beginning of the fasting month. It was simply great to be among friends again.

While Kak Ton, Raden Galoh and I were at the dining table, we heard someone played the piano. Hmmm, good, I thought. Some music for the soul. Who could that be? I wondered. I turned around to have a look. What a surprise. He was none other than our crime analyst.

He entertained us with a number of songs including my all-time favourite “Love Story.” Ah, that song literally transported me to another place and another time.

I love the song so much because it brings me back to special moments in time. The first time I heard it played (live) was somewhere in a forgotten street of Machynlleth, Wales.

Have you heard this song on a violin? The melody is so magical that it evokes a sense of romance in anyone who claims to have a heart. And the lyrics are simply awesome too:

Where do I begin

To tell a story

Of how greatful love can be

The sweet love story

That is older than a sea…

Of course, the hopelessly romantic person that I am started to wonder what life would be without music and poetry.

Duke Orsino, in Shakespeare’s Twelfth Night (who is utterly besotted with Olivia) loudly proclaims:

If music is the food of love

Give me excess of it, that, surfeiting, 
The appetite may sicken, and so die.

That strain again;–it had a dying fall; 
O, it came o’er my ear like the sweet south, 
That breathes upon a bank of violets, 
Stealing and giving odour.–Enough; no more; 
‘Tis not so sweet now as it was before. 
O spirit of love, how quick and fresh art thou! 
That, notwithstanding thy capacity 
Receiveth as the sea, nought enters there, 
Of what validity and pitch soever, 
But falls into abatement and low price 
Even in a minute! so full of shapes is fancy, 
That it alone is high-fantastical. “

So friends, do you have a love story to tell me?

27 thoughts on “Sleepless in Setiawangsa – IV

  1. Elviza,
    You brought to memory the two nostalgic verses in my life, The Love Story of days when I was in my early twenties, Shakepeare’s Twelfth Night when I was even younger during my school days. There are many others like poems by Wordworth which is fading but lingers on vaguely in my old memory.
    If you are stuck when writing, just do something else until you get back the flow.

    Pak Zawi,

    As I said, I never have the flow. Writing to me would involve tossing and turning in bed, thinking obssesively, sitting in front of the laptop and suddenly leaving, and many other things. But to each his/her own yeah?

    Dont you just love the song?

  2. Ma’m,

    How about your love story…..

    We do want to know are you a love skeptic or optimist?

    Sometimes you sound like a skeptic and sometime like optimist.

    I find it difficult to answer your question Pengembara. Can we leave it as it is?

  3. My love story is a very long one.. although it doesn’t have a happy ending.. besides, it can’t fit in your comment box.😉

    Have a great week, my friend.

    *hugs*

    How about getting in done is as many comments box as you want Jemima? Have a good week to you too…

  4. Pekena ko nih?

    You reading shakespeare again? Been telling you since sheffield days it s gonna crack your head. Tak percaya cakap aku…..tgk apa jadi kat ko sekarang?

    Anyway, good writing mate. You got it and aku tahu kau tahu kan?

    Apa2lah. Salam peluk cium untuk Luke. Utk Jefri, salam je lah…

    Ni payah nih bila kenkawan baca blog nih. Asyik kena condemn jer… Aku nak bukak blog baru, yang tak der sapa2 tahu – hahahaha padan muka ko! Thanks for everything weh. Even if I will spam you if you go one step overboard with your comment!! Hahahaahahaha! Salam to your parents.

  5. Salam sis Elviza:

    Love story, huh!
    Me and love story : not a good combination I think
    ( Imean for me to write a love story…it might turn out to be a Senario script)

    Salam Bro Ta:

    Kalau you yg tulis, terpaksalah I baca…walaupun skrip senario! So. what’s the story brother?

  6. Elviza,

    You sure got a taste of music, you know that?
    I’m new on your site. I’ll becom a regular visitor. You might not realize it. But your writing got some style(“,). Plus, I am a Kelantanese too.

    Dear Akmal

    Thank you very much. It will be my honour to host you here and I will realise it…wordpress do tell me who you are🙂

  7. Love story by Shirley Bassey is my all time favourite. So classy and she sings it with conviction and emotion. Two essential ingredients for a great love story, methinks. Was hoping to meet you and family at Nuraina’s open house last weekend. Next time, insya-Allah.

    Sir, did I miss seeing you again? Sigh, missed you in Tg. Jara, missed you at Nuraina’s do… tak der jodoh lagi agak nya… macam saya dgn Acciacaturra lah…

  8. I have not played that song “Love Story” on the piano in a long time. It is a beautiful song. I have heard it on violin and it is just magical. Some violinist have a knack of making their intrument sing. Close your eyes and you can feel the song in your heart.

    Another song that makes me float is “Misty”, sung by Johnny Mathis. ahhh….

    There are so many love stories that I know of but I just don’t know where to start. I could write about it but I know the minute I decide to do that, I will stare at a blank screen for a long time.🙂 (Blogger’s block)

    Ohhhhh bloggers block!!! Hang in there sista!

  9. hi elviza -trying to contact you! can’t find your phone number. there is a creative writing course starting nov 15th and i am holding a place for you but need to hear from you really soon

    sharon

  10. Dear Elviza,

    I’ve been a silent reader all these while – bloghopping from K.Ena’s every now and then (and now from K.Ton’s, too!)😀

    If there’s a kaki bangku for music – then I’m it… I don’t/can’t play any instruments, and I can’t sing – even if my life depends on it!

    My hubby plays the piano, though – and he plays Love Story beautifully…melts my heart everytime…🙂

    Yup – truly a beautiful song.

    Ah, Wanshana….

    Heard of you, read your blog in silent too. Thanks for being here. Your husband plays instrument? One lucky lady you are.

  11. The lyrics, wow… How come I never heard of the song? Pity me.

    Love story? The sweetest is usually the one that got away bcoz it does not normally involve diapers, going to the wet market and mother-in-laws. Reality sucks innit?

    Dear Sofiairdina,

    You never heard the lyrics because you were born wayyyyy after the song got famous. Thats the thing, love and reality dont go hand in hand!

  12. my dear elviza,

    aaah…..love stories are not to be told. they are to be extricated, from long-forgotten letters that find their way into the hands of the curious.

    we all have our love stories, eh, sister? some of which must never be told.

    take care.

    Dear Witchy Sista,

    Of course, some love stories should remain in the dungeon. Hahahahaha!

  13. Elviza:

    Love Story, eh? I prefer the Andy Williams version myself.

    My very own love story? Unfortunately (or fortunately), I don’t have one. How Julia Ormond described Harrison Ford in the movie ‘Sabrina’ comes to mind: “You are the world’s only living heart donor!”. That’s how most people see me.

    In any case, love is a four-letter word ha! ha!

    Mat Bangkai,

    You are a love skeptic. Betul tak??

  14. Dear Elviza,

    Have been following your blog for quite a while. silently.

    Love Story is my all time fave.. .. I love the song, I love the movie and I love the novel. One of the songs that I used to play on organ during my teenage years.

    Dear Nana,

    I just played it on the keyboard last night. Music transcends barrier isnt it? It speaks straight to your heart. Thanks for reading me… the pleasure is all mine…

  15. Writer’s block it seems! And yet you churned out a moving piece here. You had NOTHING to write about, so you wrote about NOTHING (in particular). But SOMETHING evolved, huh?….and something soothing but real. Write away sayang.
    (I marked you as absent for WRT yesterday. Heard that Little Luke was unwell. How is he?

    Hey, missed you yesterday. Kinda of weird not seeing you guys on Tuesday. Yeah, he had fever and of course I was worried sick. We were afraid if the temp soars, he ll have a fit. But I have all your tips written in my head. Worry not, your grandson’s temp this morning is 37.2. See ya next week.

  16. Puan Lawyer & Mom of 1,

    If you have it (love), you dont need to have anything else, and if you dont have it, it doesnt matter how much else you have (Sir James M Barrie)

    Been reading you from far but never leave any comment. This time I need to know how do you write like this. They say its from the heart. Is it true?

    Dear Daddt 3T (what does it mean?),

    Write from the heart? I don’t know, you tell me Sir…

  17. salam elviza,
    talk about love, i learned my lesson. from there on, i will never love His subject more than i love Him, Allah Taala. InshaAllah.

    Ah, how true…

  18. Thought you are having a block? Yet you came up with this calming post? Got to come here more often!

    I ll take it as a compliment. Thank you Sir/M’am

  19. boo!

    ok, that wasnt so scary.

    so anyway, proud to say i was there last week, sitting (what else?) next to our very own crime-analyst cum pianist and i’ve got to say this fella is one hay of an all-rounder.

    i and zorro had lunch with kamal again a couple o days later and ended up listening to his crime-related stuff with amazement for 2 full hours!

    i thought Mat Salo was our only walking wiki, but now w’ve got 2.

    What do you mean? I was scared to death okay?🙂

    You hang out with Kamal again? Lucky you! Yeah,yeah, Mat Salo is a walking wiki.

  20. Apani bloggers block? I got mental blog and am still.

    And you guyz do not want to hear a love story from me. Seriously.

    Ok, gotta run elsewhere. Let’s see whether Peaches’ at home with her Harley.

    P.S. Stevie Wonder’s “Lately”, James Ingram’s “Just once”, Seal’s “Kiss from a rose” and anything by Frankie.

    P.P.S. Yo E, I think you got a fanatical fan in Harrison ‘Ford’ Hansome lah. Woooooo…what do you call a blogger groupie? A blogpie?

    Ah, Shar! P.P.S.? You nuts man…

    Of course lah I know about Harrison Ford Handsome. Why? you jeles meh? You kan ada your honey-peach? Hahaahahaha. Blogpie? Hmmm, sounds good actually.

  21. Allow me to be honest to the core, my dear learned cyberspace friend Shar101, I must admit I am infatuated with Elviza, but let’s not use the ‘fanatical’ jargon as it may distort my true character and scare her(Elviza) away. I promise that I won’t even touch her 1st even she lies next to me in bed.

    http://sloone.wordpress.com/2007/10/28/the-pimp-the-whore-and-the-blog-imposter/#comments

    Dearest Harrison,

    As always, you make my day with your pleasant comment. But, please be assured that my brother Shar doesnt mean any harm too. Throughout our course of friendship, he has never hurt my feelings or anyone close to him. On the other hand, you or other commentors that I previously approved do not scare me in any way. We are brothers and sisters in cyberspace dear. Good night now and you take care ok?

  22. “Love Story” movie was great and song sung by the late Matt Monroe….an Australian ..then by Andy Williams was even better….same style..two powerful melodious angel voices.
    My everlasting love stories are with my mother and her naughty child. Each time I think of the many many events happened in my life…and with my mom was the true 100% love.
    Next is my family..which to me..are propelled by my great rsponsibilities towards true love to all of them…but with my mom…I am the benefiaciary…and she was the giver….through out her life.

  23. Just checked through Google under “Lyrics Love Story” to confirm that the 3rd line should be:

    how great a love can be (not ‘greatful’)

    A shorter version of the poem after Love Story will be:

    “If music be the food of love, play on!”

    Samuel Goh Kim Eng
    http://MotivationInMotion.blogspot.com
    Mon. 19th Nov. 2007.

Leave a Reply

