Much Ado about Nothing – II

Rais Yatim proposes women to obtain consent before traveling out of the country, Ibrahim Ali calls for women to be educated on polygamy and Munirah Bahari of National Islamic Student Association of Malaysia thinks that the current school uniform instigates rape; I couldn’t quite decide which is worse of the three suggestions.

Despite his obvious lacking in ruling the country, Prime Minister Abdullah Badawi, nipped Rais Yatim’s proposal in the bud, saving yours truly from crying foul on this issue. I don’t have much to think about Ibrahim Ali – his thunderous words tantamount to much ado about nothing – even though his voters think the world of him. His insinuation is nothing less than an insult to Malaysian women including this blogger. Remember Sir, a woman brought you to this world and a woman bore your children through ultimate pain and suffering. If you don’t have anything else to say, it is best that you shut up rather than shooting yourself in the foot like what you just did.

And to Munirah, just go get yourself a complete education for scarce knowledge often leads to catastrophe. Rape originates not from women’s clothing for it is a trespass to a human body without his or her consent. If she decides to walk around naked, and hypothetically someone rapes her, that someone is still a rapist in the eyes of the law.

My sincerest advice to the politicians and NGOs alike is to think before you speak. Or just emulate the British: if you don’t have anything else to say, restrict your conversation to the weather. Now if you excuse me folks, I have a son a raise, a husband to deal with, a law firm to run, a blog to update, a new pair of shoes to trot around town with and at the same time worry whether this overpriced white shirt I am wearing to court is too transparent it calls for someone to rape me, and of course, I must remind myself to get an education on polygamy. After all, I am just a woman.

Just for the record, white is my favourite colour.

13 thoughts on “Much Ado about Nothing – II

  1. Pingback: can i run this

  2. Lol! This is a good post, I’m so amused by the way you put it!

    Yes, people are capable of making stupid suggestions, it’s the same for you and me, but they are people in the “limelight” that’s why their wrongdoings are more clear and obvious as compared to normal ppl like us. Hehe.

    That said, they should indeed use the phrase “Silence is Golden” just like what Abdullah is always doing. Works all the bloody darned time right!😛

    Hi Sandy,

    Silence is no longer golden for Abdullah since he lost 5 states the last election! I share your sentiments on those people in the limelight, or so to speak. Good day my friend…

  3. Can you imagine what they think of the Catholic nuns who wears all white???😛

    Dear Jemima,

    I bet you they ll be turn on at the rate they are going!

  4. i shall convey your thoughts to my “firebrand” uncle yg notorious tu… guess which one.. he is from the one from kelantan …heheheheh, he’s not a bad person tho…like other politician..he’s just doing his thang…

    I cant believe you are related to him (no judgment!)

  5. Sis Elviza,

    Goethe: There is nothing as frightening as ignorance in action.

    Hello Stranger, haven’t seen you here for so long. Busy I assume? Great quote you wrote here today, sadly those people up there never heard of it.

  6. having said that, its not the first time he unintentionally memalukan his model citizen nephew and the nice folks in pasir mas🙂

    Folks from Pasir Mas are nice: Pak Zawi and also the rest of my family. Again my friend, as I said earlier – no judgment!

  7. Kadang-kadang lembut, selalunya mild, hari ini sinis sungguh.

    Whatever it is, you do write beutifully without so much effort. What is the secret? Bakat lah I think…

    Goood day Maam. Your son is a very lucky boy.

    Dear Sepuluhsen,

    Thank you for the compliments, I really appreciate it (blush! blush!). Do drop by again when you have the time.

  8. Bonjour Elv.

    I looovve your briliant post today especially this-

    Now if you excuse me folks, I have a son a raise, a husband to deal with, a law firm to run, a blog to update, a new pair of shoes to trot around town with and at the same time worry whether this overpriced white shirt I am wearing to court is too transparent it calls for someone to rape me, and of course, I must remind myself to get an education on polygamy. After all, I am just a woman.

    Flawless and well-said.
    Cheers…..!

    My friend Sally,

    I am glad you love this. Hope I will write a lot more things that meet your approval. Take care my dear…

  9. Hello Elviza,
    I love the fire that raging in you now. That break in KB is working fine putting you back in elements and pushing your thoughts and feelings into the cyber.

    This is what you call human colors, some got turn on even with white shirt while others could not care less even with naked body beside him – dozing like a rock. We have no choice but start developing human instead of a fox.

    When you have fox in the community the entire chicken are not safe, even in the cage.

    Take care super women.

    Dear Dato’ (sekali sekala boleh kannn…),

    As usual, you are too generous with your compliments. I couldnt agree more on that score of developing human instead of a fox. How apt! Good day Jaff.

  10. Elviza,
    My apology for helping to send a donkey to Parliament. I thought he is elquent enough to speak sensibly in parliament. Anyway that was his promise to his voters during his campaigning. We will see to it that this will be his last and final term. We have had enough of his antics.

    Salam Pak,

    Its never your fault. You and I had, time and again, been fooled by the likes of Ibrahim Ali. Never mind Pak, five years will pass in a blink of an eye – then they will know wherethe power lies. They just never learnt a thing!

  11. Rias Yatim is an idiot!
    Saying win win on loosing island to Singapore…just go and read..everyone is f…king him!
    Now school girls dress code?
    I think…he himself is turned on..wanting to have a go…..hahahahaha
    This nickumpoo of the highest order….will be the darling and pride of UMNO.. as a minister…as one…most can relate too…a bunch of weird idiots.

  12. Well said, Elviza. I love this post. It is evident that stupid statements like these are made by people who don’t do enough research. They may mean well in their own little idealistic worlds but it is a huge insult to the majority of us who are living in the real and complex world.

Leave a Reply

