Malaysiakini: MP Teresa Kok is ISA No.3!

Okay, I am going to hold the husband’s and my son’s passports handy, have enough cash and apply for a new platinum credit card: just in case I need to flee this maddening country!

For heaven’s sake Barisan Nasional, just declare the state of emergency you so wanted, since we are all aware how desperate you are to stay in power. Shoving the ISA on everyone’s faces is considered hitting below the belt!

MP Teresa Kok is now arrested under ISA. Malaysiakini has a report:

“DAP leader Teresa Kok has also been detained under the Internal Security Act today. She becomes the third person to be detained under the prevention law today.

federal territory round table retrieat 170408 teresa kokIt is learnt that the Seputeh member of parliament was arrested at about 11.18pm on her way back from a function in Kuala Lumpur. She was arrested after her vehicle was blocked by three police patrol cars.

Deputy IGP Ismail Omar confirmed Kok’s arrest under Section 73 (1) of the Act.

In Penang, DAP secretary general Lim Guan Eng also confirmed her arrest. He said that the party would be holding an emergency meeting tomorrow to discuss the matter.

Earlier today the Malaysia Today editor Raja Petra Kamaruddin and Sin Chew Daily News reporter Tan Hoon Cheng were arrested under the Act.

This is so surreal, we are living 1987 all over again. Please, someone, anyone, let’s stop this madness! Where is that iconic Anwar Ibrahim now?

And Jefree is at UMNO branch having a meeting. Please, if you are reading this, just come home!

9 thoughts on “Malaysiakini: MP Teresa Kok is ISA No.3!

  1. Frightening isn’t it?

    But we are witnessing the scenario of a Govt in its death throes. So expect some of shock-waves of the order of registering on the richter scale!!

    My advice – the Ghandhian approach. Peaceful, non-violent protests and civil disobedience. The just will win.

    http://donplaypuks.blogspot.com
    check out my blog Sept16th Chronicles-PartIII Sighful is Pregnant

    Dear Donplaypuks,

    I totally agree with the use of Gandhi approach.

  2. Ok my friends and family now are preparing passport and leaving in droves. If you check the immigration dept u will notice there’s a sudden increase by 400% of malaysians leaving the country in fear of state of emergency. I am damn lucky to have got my 3 of my platinum cards approved and will be withdrawing advance cash from my platinum cards to goto canada to get a visa or work permit soon. We will be kissing goodbye to Malaysia and channel out our savings of RM800k to canada-let’s hope UMNO will not stop my money going out….from this stupid country!!!

    Ah, that is one expressive person writing and I like it!

  3. Oh dear … I have been so caught up with my own emergencies here that I did not realise what was happening in Malaysia.

    Desperation is driving a lot of people to do a lot of things.
    I really do not know what to say except hope that something good will come out of all that is happening. sigh

    Something good, hopefully, will come out of it, Jac. However, in the meantime, we just keep hoping.

  4. Pingback: MP Teresa Kok is ISA No.3!

  5. Teresa Kok was arrested over the petition to the mosque which she had no part. Furthermore, the mosque chairman had already cleared her.

    Why the ruckus over the Azan? Why now after the mosque has been around for the last 6 years?

    The complainants are in cahoots with the UMNO top leaders to convince the Malays the nons are taking advantage of Umno’s weakness.

    I am living in Sembulan, a Muslim enclave. The Azan, I hear it so often, so used to it that I no longer hear it at all. On the positive note it gives me a sense of time.

    The Azan lasts not more than 2 min. What disturbance are the residents complaining abt?

    Bro,

    I have never heard any complaints before. This is the case of making a mountain out of a molehill. Beats me.

  6. Come, darling, don’t be so dramatic. Jangan melatah tak pasai2. Calm down, itu separuh dari iman, ya. Go read what matbangkai has to say.
    It’s just another day.

  7. Elviza,
    If this isn’t trumped up charges, I don’t know what is. Now we know thata baldy isn’t as smart as we thought they were.

    Tu lah pasal Pak…

Leave a Reply

