Malaysia’s Long Awaited Dawn

This morning, en route to Court, the Husband asks: “So, you think the take over is going to happen?” I swear I heard a tint of sarcasm in his voice.

“It might, Papa! Never underestimate a situation as grave as this one.” I shakily reply to his question.

However, his question lingers on my head – like an annoying pest – the entire day. As at 4 o’clock this evening, I report as follows:-

  • Access to Malaysiakini: Virtually IMPOSSIBLE!
  • Text messages to blogger friends: “The answers are still rhetoric.”
  • Phone call to a dear friend at Level 4: Went unanswered.
  • Phone call to a reporter friend at MSM: Also went unanswered.

However, totally based on the persistence of my optical mouse in clicking Malaysiakini‘s link, here’s the update as at 2:40 this afternoon:

“Opposition Leader Anwar Ibrahim insisted he has in excess of 31 government defectors and call on Prime Minister Abdullah Ahmad Badawi not to implement emergency rule during the takeover.
MCPX

At a packed press conference at 2pm today, he urged the ruling Barisan Nasional to commit to a peaceful handover of the government and not resort to emergency rule.

“We want a peaceful transition. We hope that Barisan will not put up emergency rule to stop MPs from going to Parliament or arrest (government) MPs or stop them from joining Pakatan Rakyat,” he said.

He has sought a meeting with Abdullah to show him the list of names of defectors and to discuss a smooth handover.

Anwar will need at least 31 defectors from BN and perhaps over 40 to form a stable Pakatan Rakyat government.”

I have to leave my desk in an hour or so to have iftar with the girls at Lake Club and I hate to miss history in the making.

The Blackberry server went down on me. Mr. Maxis, you are so bloody fired!

Okay, I am running out of my wits to get the news on the takeover, and the cyberworld laughs at me in my desperation.

7 thoughts on “Malaysia’s Long Awaited Dawn

  1. Oh, nobody’s laughing at you … certainly not me.

    However, I’m not nervous – I’m one of those disenfranchised, without anything much to lose no matter how gets to rule what.

    I’m depending on the RSS feeds at the bottom of “my other site” for the latest news (Yours is currently at the top when it comes to “most recent”)

    Okay, I am going to be a dodo bird and ask you as to how on earth do I put that RSS feeds on my blog? *coiling in shame*

  2. BTW if you are obsessed about it and want up-to-the-minute updates, why not try Susan Loone’s site?

    Go to the latest post – the comments aren’t moderated, so it has become like a “Shout Box” with the latest news and opinions. But this is a rabid anti-BN/Umno site, so be warned…

    Dearest, anyone who blogs would have known about Susan’s blog.🙂

  3. The server or the device? I’m on BB too, but Celcom…my friends BB on Maxis is OK, we have a flurry of PIN message exchange the whole day of today. Maybe you should order the new BOLD!

    Lastgig!

    You are a genius! Absolutely must be the sleek BOLD. Notwithstanding which one screwed up today, the maxis of the device. Heh.

  4. Elviza, Politic is the art of the possible, so nothing is impossible in politic. The process of change has began on March 8,2008. It is a tsunami of sort and it would not stop until the change happen. That is the aspiration of the people, Malaysian. It is what we call democracy. Do stay calm.

    Have a nice day.

    Dear Pak Idrus,

    It is hard, if not, downright impossible to stay calm at watershed moment like right now. But anyhow, I remain optimistic – that’s the least I can do.

  5. If you folks haven’t been to Ariff Sabri’s blog before, I’d like to recommend that you do. Now this is by someone who really knows his stuff! Great material there.

    Oh, I heard all about him. Had linked him both on the lappie and berry2.

  6. Maybe these folks are right: stick to creative writing. That will `help me’ too – it will decrease the competition for socio-political sites. And I sure as hell won’t be able to compete with you since you “have the glamour”:-)

    Oh, feel free to totally monopolise the creative writing world – that’s one thing that I know nuts about:-)

    BTW, think I should use this as a shameless opportunity to promote my own site, Cendana Blues: Addicted to Politics. The latest post is Najib Blues: Addicted to Lust http://cendana287.blogspot.com

    Warning: “Nasty Site”. If it isn’t right now, it will be. That’s how things go with politics, which is why I never mention it at my first site.

    My dear,

    It’s your site, it’s up to you how nasty you want to be. But must remember to blog responsibly.

Leave a Reply

