Of Tukar Tiub & Tapai

I have been a fainéant*.

Now, hang on, who ever walks on the face of the earth using a noun like that? Get over yourself, woman!

It must be due to the fact that some contents of this blog, are not, to every quarter’s preference.

However, I don’t give a hoot what people think about my writing. Rumor has it, even my closest friends, view my political write-ups with disdain due to my lack of experience in political spectrum of the country.

Yes, the rumor reached my ear loud and clear.

But, the heck I care. At least, I don’t have an albatross around my neck like some paid propagandists. Shame on you!

Above all, I am not writing to please anyone but myself. Writing is my personal journey towards self-discovery. If I couldn’t find my calling in the practice of law, writing is the closest to that effect.

On that same preamble, I adore the courage and conspicuous talent of Hishamuddin Rais in penning his columns and blogs.

Whenever I receive a crispy copy of the latest Off The Edge magazine, I will read the monthly publication from back to front. Rais’ column, Tapai, sits next to Patrick Teoh’s Teohlogy (which is equally as entertaining and cynical). Both columns mark the beginning of a pleasant reading journey – to me at least.

Rais started his flaming blog, Tukar Tiub, during the country’s mother of all by-elections at Permatang Pauh. I know he is a friend to he-who-didn’t-come-up-with-the-list-on-Sept 16, but that is none of my business.

Rais makes his political stand unequivocal in Tukar Tiub thus setting him apart from other blogs written mainly by idealist and extremist – yours truly included. *Evil laugh echoes*

His writing fears no one for Rais, too, writes for himself with little thought on repercussions or consequences thereof. In a country where voices of dissent are being suppressed in no time, he has some guts writing down the posts in that infant blog of his.

Rais spares no politician or government policy with his caustic ink. To sum it up clearly, he calls a spade a spade. However, his trademark laugh of, “kah! kah! kah!” irritates the wit out of me but I keep reading him nonetheless.

Tukar Tiub reached one million hits this week. Little blogging brother, Amin Iskandar, has the report, here.

In his column, Tapai, he romances – of all things – food and wine. His writing in Tapai – though at times cavalier in disposition – are both creative and informative. A tell-tale sign of a great scribe.

I find him bewitching in Tapai, a tad edgy, but at the end always classy and in a league of his own. Lastly, Rais is also disconcertingly honest (but never without perspective), he makes me laugh: he calls himself “an aging hippie”.

Today, The Sun newspaper features his new column: RaisWhine. He rants on pollution for his inaugural piece. Do read him.

And did I mention that he writes fluently in both languages of Bahasa Melayu and English?

*fainéant (n) means an irresponsible idler; a sluggard*

4 thoughts on “Of Tukar Tiub & Tapai

  1. There is something of the night about him, and that’s why he is so irresistable. Men’s Review has done cover story on him in the early 1990s. Have you read it?

  2. Hola Elviza,

    Yeah, I love that aging hippie not because he’s a Negerian, but his train of thought. Used to read his article when he wrote for Gila-Gila mag. No doubt he’s witty and I couldn’t stopped laughing even when he’s being sarcastic.

    Thank you for sharing his whereabouts. Many years has gone by, wasting my times roaming the street aimlessly. I guess I got a lot of catching up to do, doing something that I loved to do. For instance like reading. As for now there are only 4 bloggers that I read frequently. The aging hippie will be my fifth.

    Just wanna tell you that I’ve updated mine since your last visit.

    See you around.

    Greetings and lots of love from Kuale Kangsor.

  3. I’m embarrassed to say this but I will.
    You see, I’ve heard of Tukar Tiub before (and I think it was from here). And I definitely know who Hishamuddin Rais is. However, only now do I know HE is the writer of that blog!

    And about this one:
    “…view my political write-ups with disdain due to my lack of experience in political spectrum of the country.

    That explains it then; of why I WAS NEVER viewed with whatever, not even of disdain!…your purported “lack of experience” is a a few streets ahead of my “practically zero contact” of it.

Leave a Reply

