Of Illness & Books

I am tired, grouchy and not in the prime of health. Bouts of flu and few despicable illnesses (not fit for mention here)  came a calling. The good thing about being sick (read: forced to stay in bed instead of gallivanting around town) is that I have time to read. And read all I did last week. 

It was heavenly, I went through The Partisan’s DaughterMerantau Ke Deli in 3 days. I reread To Kill a Mockingbird (still the best book ever written) and The Count of Monte Cristo with a painstakingly slow speed, absorbing every magical word written by Lee and Dumas. 

While I am still at it, this blog will be hushed, probably until the end of December 2009. 

Merry Christmas and Happy New Year. 

4 thoughts on “Of Illness & Books

  1. To Kill a Mockingbird: I’ve heard of this title since I was in primary school. And it had popped up again and again over the years. But somehow I’ve never read it. Since you have rated it as being in the stratospheric category, I’ll have to downlaod a copy from Project Gutenberg.

    No problem with The Count of Monte Cristo – It’s one of the books you gave me during Raya Aidilfitri. Hmm, maybe I should put off the Project Gutenberg download and go read the PRINT edition of Dumas’ book instead. It’s raining here, and it would be nice to lie down under a blanket and read…

  2. happy new year, dear elviza.

    may this year bring you more books!

    can’t resist saying something about “mockingbird”. i’ve read it three times in my life. the first time as a teenager. i understood it differently. couldn’t quite appreciate it in a way i did later. then in my early 20s, i caught things i did not catch earlier, then in my 30s, just for the heck of it.

    great book. but, hmmm. not sure i can agree with you about it being the best book ever etc etc…
    “count of monte cristo” — that’s a classic.

    anyway, have a glorious year! i know i will.

  3. love love love To Kill A Mockingbird. Have been reading and re-reading it for a gadzillion times since secondary school and i never get bored. Yes. the best book ever written

Leave a Reply

