Al Fatihah: Captain Yusof Ahmad @ Ancient Mariner

Updated on July 20 @ 10:37 a.m.

This is a message from Captain’s daughter, Aisyah:

“Dear All,
On behalf of my family, thank you for your kind words and wishes. We’re not sure how to contact all his friends, so hope this will reach some, if not most.
There will be a Tahlil tonight after Isyak prayers at Surau An Nai’mah next to our residence at Tiara Kelana Condo in SS 7 Kelana Jaya. It would mean a lot to us if you could attend.
Thank you.
Aisyah Yusof (Captain’s daughter)”

ORIGINAL POSTING:

    “Every soul shall have taste of death; In the end to us shall ye be brought back.” 
     (Surah Al-‘Ankabut The Spider 29:57)

AS I AM TYPING this, I still wish to be jolted awaked from this cruel joke. I waited three hours: I am still very much in reality. 

Syed Akbar Ali texted me this morning about Captain Yusof passing away, I confirmed it with Tony Yew and Nuraina Samad. Still no joke, it’s true. 

Captain has left us to see his Maker. He died in his sleep last night. His body has been taken to Seremban.

I don’t know where in Seremban, I don’t know where my car keys are, I don’t know who to call, what to say. But what I do know: my Tuesdays will never be the same again. 

I am going to leave this posting without moderation so, if you know more, kindly leave the info on the comment box. 

Captain Yusoff’s mother passed away six days ago. That was the last time I spoke to him. 

Husna, Jordan, Kak Ton, and the rest of MRT regulars, I hope you are reading this. 

This blog will be silent for seven days as a mark of respect for Captain. Let us recite the penghulu of all surah in the Al Karim, Surah Yassin, for the late Captain Yusof Ahmad. 

In Memoriam: 

1) Little Brother Amir Hafizi: The Last Voyage

2) Rocky: Alfatihah for The Ancient Mariner

3) A Voice: Al Fatihah to Capt Yusof Ahmad

4) Syed Akbar Ali: Al Fatihah Capt Yusof Ahmad

5) Pasquale: Ancient Mariner may you rest in peace bro!

6) Haris Ibrahim: Ancient Mariner has passed on

7) Tok Mommy: Al-Fatiha The Ancient Mariner…

8.) Pak Ngah Bakaq: Al Fatihah kepada Ancient Mariner

27 thoughts on “Al Fatihah: Captain Yusof Ahmad @ Ancient Mariner

  1. innalillah wainnilaihi rojiu’un. semoga arwahnya di tempatkan bersama mereka yg beriman. takziah juga kepada keluarga arwah.

  2. I don’t know where in Seremban—
    King George V The old school … just across the road from where we lived.

    thats where in seremban dont you visit your friends blog?

    i do.

  3. Elviza thanks for the sms. May Allah blessed our dear Capt. Yusof and put him among the faithfuls. I shall missed a true friend.

  4. elvie dear,

    even one like me, whose life was only virtually brushed by the late cap’n but grew to enjoy and respect his writings, was totally shocked to hear of his totally unexpected demise.

    what more you and the mrt regulars who were his friends.

    i’m heartened to hear how peacefully he made his final voyage… in his sleep!

    bon voyage, ancient mariner!

    you go accompanied with our prayers. al-fatihah!

    again, i hope you will also extend my deepest condolences to his widow and children and the rest of his family when you menziarah. thanks much!

  5. Pingback: Top Posts « WordPress.com

  6. thank you, on behalf of the family. i’m sorry that we were not able to inform other family members and friends soon enough for the funeral as he left us all too soon.

    al fatihah

    kassim (allahyarham’s younger brother)

  7. Dear All,
    On behalf of my family, thank you for your kind words and wishes. We’re not sure how to contact all his friends, so hope this will reach some, if not most.
    There will be a Tahlil tonight after Isyak prayers at Surau An Nai’mah next to our residence at Tiara Kelana Condo in SS 7 Kelana Jaya. It would mean a lot to us if you could attend.
    Thank you.
    Aisyah Yusof (Captain’s daughter)

  8. Don’t be an idiot! Pick up your blerrdy phone woman! You always do this when you are sad. You think if you shun the world, it’s gonna make the sadness go away, is that it? Grow up lah. Always like this. Fed up aku

  9. Dear All,
    Apologies, but we have moved the Tahlil tonight to after Maghrib prayers instead of Isyak.

    Harap maklum.

    Aisyah Yusof

  10. I do not know the Ancient Mariner personally but I enjoy reading and following his blog. especially on the PKFZ issue. It was really a shock to know of his demise and may Allah guide him on his next journey…my heartfelt condolences to his family…al-fatihah..

  11. My deepest condolences to allahyarham captain’s family.
    He used to be my pilot superitendent during the early days of my career as a marine pilot at port kelang.
    Learned about his demise from the announcement made thru IKMAL.
    Just, when the wind is in his favour, the sail has to be lowered to mark the end of his journey here….
    Al Fateha

  12. I knew the captain only through his blog posts. It is with deep regret that I never got to meet this great man in person. He was outspoken in his views and courageous in his quest for justice and the truth. His demise is a huge loss to the bloggers fraternity.

    My deepest condolences to the family.

  13. Salam Puan,

    Jes a thought tickle,why not organise a majlis tahlil for the known Arwah Pak Cpt.Yusof.somewhere.
    A chaance to meet other bloggers for a good cause.Since Kak Ton is a parmenant features of Tuesday Mee Rebus,I reckon it might turn out to be a good cause of event.
    Well again its jes a thought at any surau at Kelana Jaya and later march for a teh tarik session could be folow up.

    Give me a buss,am free now,exam over.

    Wassalam.

  14. pak tuo,

    a majlis tahlil will be held this thursday 23rd july 2009 after maghrib at surau al akidah jalan ss 7/28 kelana jaya. we would appreciate if you could spread the word.

    wassalam

    kassim ahmad (the cap’n’s younger bro)

  15. Elviza, Tenkiu for the sms, unfortunately only today did I see it.
    my phone termasuk air, so bila sudah di blow dry boleh d guna kembali tapi set up dia lari. maknanya, haribulan dan waktu lari. makna nya, sms dari elviza dah jadi sms bertarih 1.1.2008. maknanya, tersorok nun jauh di bawah.

    terharu saya membaca pemergian kaptan yusof, yang pernah saya temui.

    gambar arwah bersemutar yang di ambil di pertemuan yang di anjurkan oleh pak zawi, ada saya lampirkan di dalam blog saya.

    saya, yang hanya satu .dot.

Leave a comment