Al-Kawthar

In conjunction with Read the Qur’an‘s campaign launched by Kak Marina and Syed, I am writing about a surah, closest to my heart. A close friend, Kawthar, was also named after this surah. 

I start this post with a translation of the Surah in bahasa Melayu: 

“Al-Kauthar
Dengan nama Allah, Yang Maha Pemurah, lagi Maha Mengasihani.
[108:1]
Sesungguhnya Kami telah mengurniakan kepadamu (wahai Muhammad) kebaikan yang banyak (di dunia dan di akhirat).

[108:2]
Oleh itu, kerjakanlah sembahyang kerana Tuhanmu semata-mata dan sembelihlah korban (sebagai bersyukur).”

[108:3]
Sesungguhnya orang yang bencikan engkau, Dialah yang terputus (dari mendapat sebarang perkara yang diingininya).” 

And Kawthar, or best known as “Chal” among friends, is a god-fearing person. A wife and a mother to 2 beautiful boys, Chal, never preaches but she shows you the way to be closer to God. Chal makes it so easy to stop shopping for 15 minutes to give way for solat. She jokingly told me that her handbag is huge; she chucks everything inside including her telekong. It is just the way  she does everything in her life that humbles me. 

Chal is still the epitome of fashion even when she’s fully covered. That is just amazing… 

Once, I called her, laden with my worldly woes, but Chal just made everything better. Her smile, intonation and wise words shooed away the miseries I had at that time. When I grow up, I want to be like Chal. 

I hope you will find your Kawthar because I surely have found mine. Amin. 

Chal & Aswi during iftar at Rebung, Oct 2008

5 thoughts on “Al-Kawthar

  1. Elviza,

    I know it! You are scared to give your own understanding about the surah so that’s why you tell a story about a friend who was named after the surah. Cheeky, but creative. 🙂

    If that is how your Kawthar look like, I want one too (yang belum kahwin please….)

  2. Elviza,

    When I grow up, I want to be able to write as well as you and that friend of yours, Mat-B.PS:Enjoy your writings in the mother tongue as well…God, how wonderfully ambidextrous you are!

  3. Elviza,

    Surah Al-Kawthar and Al-Kafiroon are my two favourite surahs that I recite in my “sembahyang”. After reading the translations I am not sure if we should utter them when we speak to God in our sembahyang.

Leave a comment